h1

Change of project

February 1, 2010

Like our illustrious PM I’ve been invited to Denmark. Unlike him though there is a point to my going. To smash stuff!

I’ve been invited to participate in an experimental archaeology project evaluating the effect of Classical period large calibre ranged missile fire on defensive structures. Of to put it another way, someone is going to build walls and I’m going to break them. And my mother said I was on the wrong career path!

Consequently Big Tim is now on hold untill 2011 and Agrippa is on the drawing board.

Agrippa is a 4 mina ballista and as you can see is a little on the heafty side. This was the compromise between portability and hitting power. Thus making it big enough to be a pain in the ass to move and yet still too small to be a real threat to the average stone wall. Well there will be wooden palisades and mud brick as well so we’ll see what happens.

As you can imagine this is by no means a cheap under taking so if you want to contribute to my mid life deliquincey feel free. I’m also interested in hearing from anyone who is interested in sponsoring this machine. I can be fairly certain it will attract some attention. As always you can make a paypal donation and contact me using 22adartillery@gmail.com

Leave a comment