h1

Project for 2010

November 13, 2009

As 2010 is my third year at university and catapults have proved to be somethign of a diversion I’ll only be working on one thing outside my academic work next year. There will be no exhibitions, events, talks, WMD Weekend, powerpoint presentations, audio scripts, breakfast radio interviews or new plans made avaiable. Nothing, zip zlitch nada.

The one project I will be undertaking is of course possibly a bit larger than previous ones. If I was NASA we’d be at about the Saturn V point in development.

I started with Tiny: (A free plan is here)

Tiny comp

Followed by Katie: (Yeah like I’m going to give up this plan for free)

Katie comp

About Christmas 2010 Big Tim will operational. A 6.6 metre throwing arm swinging counterweight trebuchet. Thats 26′ 7″ for those of you stuck in Imperial measurement time.

Big Tim

Yeah its a little on the largish side. Actually with the arm vertical its about 10.5 metres in the air with the release point of the ball being at about 14 metres HAG (46 feet). Since the ammo is 16lb bowling balls I would recommend not standing in the impact area (Note to self: Add that to the risk management plan, avoid being hit by 16lb bowling ball doing 160k/h. Important safety tip.) The local mill is donating the timber and in fact he’s custom milling it for me. There will of course be other expenses for the fittings. So if you do feel inclined to help out you can donate to the 22AD Research Fund via paypal. If you would like a copy of the tennis ball ballista plan for you donation let me know.

In late 2009 news I’m now past 10,000 words of the 20,000 word book on catapults as detailed in the post two below from this one. Hopefully I’ll be done before Christmas… this year. If you are interested in getting a copy let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

